NCS: The Best of 2016’

Pioneering in the release of copyright-free electronic music for use in user generated content (UGC) on YouTube, it’s fair to say that young label NCS has had a whirlwind of a year, now boasting over 2 billion views and 8 million subscribers on their channel. Here they’re back with the second volume of their yearly Best Of compilation series, featuring all the tracks that made the label’s history in 2016.

Its popularity carried by gamers using the track in their own content, NCS has allowed songs to spread all over the world via YouTube and Twitch. Offering a platform to a new wave of budding producers, with many emerging from the gaming community itself, the label was instrumental in the rise of young artists such as award-winning Estonian supergroup Cartoon – one of NCS’ most promising stars who have grown astronomically this year, claiming millions of hits on their last single On & On. Syn Cole’s Feel Good is another case in point, with over 16 million views on YouTube alone. Other artists on the album include a selection of young producers unveiled by the label this year including Paul Flint, Tobu, Phantom Stage, K-391, Razihel or RetroVision.

The album also features 5 exclusive tracks from some of the most exciting acts in dance music including Cartoon, who to celebrate their past year of collaboration with the label, are offering C U Again–a collaboration with Futuristik and Mikk Mäe. Other exclusives come courtesy of young Spanish producer Different Heaven, upcoming Swiss producer Glude, Jo Cohen & Sex Whales as well as Floatinurboat, hailing from Glasgow.

Attracting tens of millions of YouTube views per week and representing a multitude of genres from house to hardstyle via chillstep, trap, and drum & bass, NCS has provided a platform for the next generation of electronic artists such as Ash O’Connor, Waysons, Cartoon and Alan Walker, whose NCS track Faded has hit number one in over 12 countries on iTunes and number eight in the Global Spotify Charts.

Recently taking part to the globally renowned TwitchCon in San Diego where they hosted their own stage, NCS’ progression from unknown quantity to market leader in a mere couple of years has been nothing short of exemplary. With a meteoric trajectory in 2016, they are now one of the key dance music curators to watch out for in 2017.

Ship Wrek – Pain feat Mia Vaile

Hot on the heels of his recent NCS release with Zookeepers, Ark, which reached an astonishing 1.6 Million plays on SoundCloud, Ship Wrek comes back to the label with a new original production, Pain, featuring Mia Vaile.

16 year old trap producer Ship Wrek was revealed in 2015 with a breakthrough remix of GTA’s Red Lips in collaboration with Take/Five, one of the most popular of the collection of remixes on SoundCloud. He went on to release an original single with Take/Five on Uprise Music, Geisha. With additional remixes for the likes of Flux Pavilion, The Chainsmokers as well as a debut EP on Trap Nation under his belt, Ship Wrek is showing no signs of slowing down.

Ship Wrek’s take on the new bass driven sound, Pain feat. Mia Vaile will be premiered during the official TwitchCon live stream in San Diego and released on October 7th via NCS.

About NCS:

NCS (NoCopyrightSounds) unites the worlds of gaming and music in an unprecedented way: The brand exists as a collective of exciting young musicians who offer their music for free and fully allow it to be used by gamers on Twitch and by YouTubers & vloggers in their own monetised content with no fear of infringement.

Attracting tens of millions of YouTube views per week and representing a multitude of genres from house to hardstyle via chillstep, trap, drum & bass and more, NCS has provided a platform for the next generation of electronic artists such as award-winning Cartoon, Ash O’Connor, Waysons and Alan Walker, whose NCS track Faded has hit number one in Norway, Finland and Sweden and number eight in the Global Spotify Charts.

Bare Noize launch LA90 Records with inaugural release ‘Elemental’

Bare Noize have made bass music history over the past decade, boasting massive hits like Scatta with Skrillex & Foreign Beggars, remixes for Ellie Goulding, Tinie Tempah, Lady Gaga and support from labels like OWSLA and Mau5trap. The duo’s now making its anticipated comeback and they are aiming high with Elemental, their long-awaited collaboration with producer friend AFK featuring vocalist Anna Yvette. Elemental is set for release on the 26th August, the first of a string of releases on Bare Noize’s brand new label, LA90.

Here label-heads Bare Noize showcase the progression of their sound, joining AFK on production duties. With its heavy bass hits and classic dubstep elements with a newly-found, upgraded bass artistry, Elemental is a shout out to the scene’s very essence, working as a reminder for fans of their first addiction to the genre’s undeniable power and unequalled technicality.

The striking emotion of Elemental is carried by Anna Yvette’s mesmerizing vocals. Anna is a singer & producer to be reckoned with in dance music, her previous work ranging across the entire spectrum of the genre with high profile collaborations with MUST DIE! and ETC!ETC!, RiFF RAFF, Evol Intent, Bro Safari & UFO! and MitiS. Counting a HypeMachine #1 under her belt and releases via dance music powerhouses MonsterCat, NCS and Interscope, the young NYC singer and self-proclaimed Unicorn takes the electro-fuelled dubstep tune to the next level, counterbalancing the grittiness of its reese bass line with her ethereal, yet powerful voice.

Jimmy Blythe a.k.a AFK is from Dallas, Texas and another dubstep artist steadily coming back to the scene – in recent years he racked up millions of views on his SoundCloud via breakthrough releases with MUST DIE!, Spenca & Getter, and support from Firepower Records. Jimmy met Bare Noize on the Firepower Tour with Datsik & Delta Heavy a few years back and they have been friends ever since.

Elemental is Bare Noize’s come back release after over a year of absence, which they both spent producing music for TV, films and working on projects individually as well as engineering other artists and projects. Refreshed by their new experiences outside of the bass music world, it was the perfect time for them to come back to the studio. The duo formed of Daniel Brown & Oliver Pile has had genre-defining releases on EMI, Parlophone, Mau5trap, Ultra, and Ministry of Sound and with its immediate appeal, Elemental is set to be yet another string to their bow. The single is out August 26th on LA90, setting the bar high for what’s next to come for the label:

“This release marks the start of our new platform LA90. To build a home for innovative music has always been a goal of ours and it feels great to finally get the wheels in motion.”
– Bare Noize

Fareoh – Cloud Ten [NCS Release]