Swedish one-man band Simon On The Moon releases debut single – Hooked

Upcoming Swedish artist Simon on the Moon has released a new track, ‘Hooked’. The single is now available to stream on Spotify.

After playing in different bands in his hometown and DJing in local hip-hop clubs, Simon decided to pair his two loves by venturing into the world of production. He began DJing “out of pure curiosity about what makes people move and because of my growing love for urban music.” He noticed that the musical elements he most enjoyed were similar, but across different shapes and genres – “the things that made me want to write riffs and write music as a band is the same thing that drew me to RnB and the urban world.”

“I believe that genres are kind of dead and that “fusion is the future” – right now, sound-wise, I’m very thrilled by the thought of a hypothetical collaboration between Backstreet Boys and say Pink Floyd. That´s very alluring to me.”

The laid back ‘Hooked’ showcases Simon’s distinctive approach to production at its best. Fusing his own echoing vocals, live guitars and drums with a soft bassline and an R&B-like beat, the track is the product of Simon’s desire to “simply make an honest song I´d love to listen to”. All the instruments were recorded and mixed by Simon – mostly in his own bedroom – whilst he experimented with the effects the sounds had on each other.

The lyrics touch on the theme of unrequited love; how two individuals can have a very different perception of, and intention with, the same relationship – receiving fake love and falling for it, like getting high from a sugar pill.

He decided to release this debut track as a free download as “I spent a lot of time alone with this and the following songs, building my own universe around them, and now it just feels like the right time to share it with people and welcome them to make it theirs.”

‘Hooked’ is a precursor to two further full-length EPs, set to drop in early 2017. After playing his own songs during DJ sets and noticing how people wanted to know what they just heard, Simon on the Moon is well positioned to share his distinctive creations with the wider world.

Kid Cudi Shares New Single & “Goodbye”

Deep Dark Blue – Atoms

Ajja & Cosmosis – Alien Jams

Melanie De Biasio Added to James Lavelle’s Meltdown Festival

Fresh from her recent UK tour supporting Agnes Obel, Melanie De Biasio has been added to the bill of James Lavelle’s Meltdown Festival. Joining a Festival line-up that includes Chrissie Hynde, Mark Lanegan, Unkle, Goldie, and Neneh Cherry, Melanie will play a headline show at the Purcell Room on Monday, June 16th. Tickets are available now via Southbank Centre

Melanie De Biasio’s critically acclaimed new album No Deal is released April 28th on Play It Again Sam. Album of the week recently on Gilles Peterson’s BBC 6 Music show, tracks from No Deal have also received plays on 6 by Cerys Matthews and Huey Morgan, and on Radio 2 by Jamie Cullum.

Originally from Charleroi and currently based in Brussels, De Biasio is the possessor of an extraordinarily expressive voice – she has been called the Belgian Billie Holiday. The minimalist, semi-improvised No Deal should appeal to fans of late-period Talk Talk, who’s Mark Hollis is a huge figure for De Biasio. She also cites Frank Zappa and Pink Floyd as formative influences, plus jazz icons Nina Simone and Abbey Lincoln.

www.melaniedebiasio.com / www.playitagainsam.net

Jontron – Desert Song

Avicii launches creative online video platform TrueTube


Always looking to push the creative possibilities of his music in new and exciting ways, Avicii has announced the launch of his latest creative endeavour, TrueTube, created by Universal Music in conjunction with Fourclops. The new concept follows the ‘Avicii x You’ and ‘Gravity’ projects in finding new ways to create fan collaboration and interactivity with his music.

After an incredible 2013 that’s seen him enjoy worldwide chart success with debut album ‘True’, Avicii is to launch TrueTube, a brand new creative online video platform designed to give fans the opportunity to make their own music videos for tracks featured on the album. Fans are able to match online videos of their choice with a specific album track and TrueTube will merge the two, creating an entirely new and personal way to enjoy Avicii‘s music.

The idea was inspired by similar concepts, most notably Pink Floyd’s infamous ‘Dark Side Of The Moon’ playing in sync with clips from The Wizard Of Oz, and given the wealth of user generated content available at fans’ fingertips online, there is scope for TrueTube to generate lots of exciting new video content.

The whole experience is geared towards speed and ease of use too, with videos being generated quickly alongside in-built features that allow fans to search for key themes, watch other fan videos and even vote for their favourites. Competitions will also start to run over the coming months to award the most creative fan efforts with exclusive prizes.

Given the buzz surrounding it’s launch, TrueTube represents another exciting new chapter for Avicii.

Temples – Mesmerise

Virgil Abad – Trap Thanksgiving @ Drais Hollywood 11212012

November 21, 2012Virgil Abad – Trap Thanksgiving @ Drais Hollywood 11212012 – [Trap]

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[download / cue]

01. Baauer, UZ, RL Grime & Silva ft. Bassnectar – Damn Son Where’d You Find This (5 & A Dime Trap Bootleg)
02. David Banner x Baauer – Like A Harlem Pimp
03. Lil Jon & Alvaro f. Will.I.Am – With My Hands Up (Mighty Mi & Slugworth Trap-A-Holic Mix)
04. Kid Womp – Drop It Feat. Arinze
05. Crime Mob & Dillon Francis – Knuck If You Trap
06. An-Ten-Nae – Work Hard (Featuring Wiz Kalifa & Pink Floyd)
07. Kanye West, Jay-Z & Big Sean – Clique (Enferno Trap Remix)
08. Juicy J feat Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz – Bandz A Make Her Dance (Mighty Mi & Slugworth Trap Mix)
09. 2 Chainz ft. Kanye West – The Birthday Song (Big Booty Trap Remix)
10. Milo & Otis/Yung Joc – Goin Down
11. Juicy J Feat.(Tity Boi) – A Zip And A Double Cup (Remix)
12. Meek Mill feat Drake – Amen (Mighty Mi & Slugworth Trap Mix)
13. Nick Catchdubs – Pop That Party Break
14. DJ Khaled ft. Ludacris vs Wick It – All I Do Is Trap (Digital Dave Vocal Refix)
15. Flosstradamus – Hood Fantasy
16. Kanye West & Jay-Z vs. Bingo Players vs. Luminox – Trap So Hard (Mister Gray Bootleg)
17. Stereothieves ft. Dev – Ass Down Low (Scene edit)
18. Steve Aoki and Kid Cudi – Pursuit Of Trappieness (Big Zoo aka Mr. Scoot)
19. RL Grime – Flood
20. Benny Benassi – Satisfaction (Trap Quick Edit)
21. DJ Jean – The Launch (Make It Bump Trap Remix)
22. Warp Brothers vs. Aquagen – Phatt Bass
23. Dino Roc – Justice vs Simian Mobile Disco feat. MGMT – We Are Your Kids Friends (Dino Roc’s Trap Remix)

Pink Floyd – Shine On You Crazy Diamond